Bersatu to notify Speaker 6 ‘rogue’ MPs no longer members

Bersatu president Muhyiddin Yassin said the six MPs and one assemblyman had failed to respond to a written directive to pledge their allegiance to the party.

KUALA LUMPUR: Bersatu will notify the Dewan Rakyat speaker soon that its six MPs who have backed Anwar Ibrahim’s administration are no longer party members.

Bersatu president Muhyiddin Yassin said a notice would be sent to the MPs and the speaker immediately after consulting with the party’s lawyers.

“We are studying reports regarding the positions of the six MPs and one assemblyman,” Muhyiddin, who is also the Perikatan Nasional chairman, said after chairing the coalition’s leadership council meeting tonight.

The six MPs are Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal (Bukit Gantang), Zahari Kechik (Jeli), Azizi Abu Naim (Gua Musang), Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid (Kuala Kangsar), Suhaili Abdul Rahman (Labuan) and Dr Zulkafperi Hanapi (Tanjong Karang).

Apart from the six, Selat Klang assemblyman Abdul Rashid Asari had also voiced his support for Selangor menteri besar Amirudin Shari’s administration.

Muhyiddin said the party would also inform the speakers of the Selangor and Kelantan state assemblies.

Azizi is also the Nenggiri assemblyman.

Muhyiddin said Bersatu decided to inform the speakers after the seven failed to respond to a written directive to pledge their allegiance to the party.

Last Friday, Dewan Rakyat Speaker Johari Abdul said he had not received official notice from any party regarding the issue.

Muhyiddin explained that the delay in notifying the respective speakers boiled down to the “party’s process”. He said the party had to exercise caution.

“We don’t want to be hasty, that’s why we took the time to put everything in order.

“We don’t want a situation where action taken is dismissed on grounds of technicality,” he said, adding that he was confident that the steps they had taken adhered to the party’s constitution and that of the anti-party hopping law.

Muhyiddin also said that notices must be sent to the elected representatives first before they were submitted to the speakers.

“The notice to the MPs (informing them that they are no longer members) will be sent in a day or two,” he said.

On a separate matter, Muhyiddin announced that PAS would be revealing its candidate for the Sungai Bakap by-election on June 15.

The seat fell vacant following the death of PAS assemblyman Nor Zamri Latiff on May 24. The Election Commission has announced that the by-election will be held on July 6


This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.