Covid-19: Gov’t quarantine and daily testing for Hong Kong returnees from southern Africa amid Omicron fears

All Hong Kong residents returning from eight southern African countries will be required to quarantine for seven days at government facilities and undergo daily Covid-19 testing before serving 14 days of hotel quarantine, health authorities announced on Monday.

It comes as international concern mounts over the new “omicron” variant first detected in South Africa last week. Scientists worldwide are investigating whether the new strain, which contains more mutations than previous variants, is more transmissible and resistant to current vaccines.

New temporary specimen collection centre at the Hong Kong International Airport. File photo: GovHK.

Travellers from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, and Zimbabwe who are not Hong Kong residents and have not been fully vaccinated will be banned from entering the city.


Leave a Reply