HKFP Lens: Hong Kong press group announces winners of annual news photo contest

The Hong Kong Press Photographers Association (HKPPA) announced the winners of its annual Focus at the Frontline news photo contest on Sunday.

HK01 photojournalist Liu Ngan Hung won the Photo of the Year award for his picture of workers removing the Pillar of Shame – a statue that honoured those who died when the People’s Liberation Army cracked down on protesters in Beijing on June 4, 1989.

The monument stood at the University of Hong Kong for more than 20 years until it was removed in the early hours of December 23. The photograph also won the Spot News category.


This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.