Putrajaya announces emergency committee members

The emergency committee will comprise MPs from the government and opposition.

PETALING JAYA: The Prime Minister’s Office has announced the members of the emergency committee with former chief justice Arifin Zakaria named as its chairman.

He will be joined by former inspector-general of police Norian Mai, former armed forces chief Zulkifli Zainal Abidin and former health director-general Dr Mohamad Taha Arif.

Tanjung Karang MP Noh Omar (Umno), Batang Lupar MP Rohani Abdul Karim (GPS), Beaufort MP Azizah Mohd Dun (PPBM) and Pasir Puteh MP Nik Muhammad Zawawi Salleh (PAS) are the government MPs in the committee.

Opposition MPs on the committee comprise Kulim-Bandar Baharu MP Saifuddin Nasution Ismail (PKR), Seremban MP Loke Siew Fook (DAP) and Kuala Selangor MP Dzulkefly Ahmad (Amanah).

Aside from Taha, two other health experts in the committee are cardiothoracic surgeon Dr Yahya Awang, who is the founder and former head of the National Heart Institute, and Dr Andrew Kiyu, who is a professor of public health in the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (Unimas).

Former chief secretary to the government Samsudin Osman, Associated Chinese Chambers of Commerce and Industry of Malaysia (Acccim) president Ter Leong Yap, Perlis mufti Mohd Asri Zainul Abidin, Cyberjaya Universiti pro-chancellor R Palan, former deputy public prosecutor Salehuddin Saidin and former Sabah state secretary Sukarti Wakiman make up the remainder of the 19-member committee.

Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin previously said the committee would advise the Yang di-Pertuan Agong on the Covid-19 situation and on when the emergency should end.

We are live on Telegram, subscribe here for breaking news and the latest announcements.


This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.