Super League clubs to join Challenge Cup earlier

The Rugby Football League has announced next year’s Challenge Cup will have a new structure, with the 12 Super League clubs joining at the third-round stage.

They did not previously enter the competition until the sixth round.

The third-round ties will be drawn in January and played in February, with Super League sides obliged to play away at seeded lower-division teams who have won their second-round matches.

The fourth round, featuring 16 clubs, will then take place in March, before quarter-finals in April and semi-finals on the weekend of 10-11 May.

Wembley Stadium will again host the final on June 7.


This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.