All Bersatu reps ordered to state loyalty to party

Bersatu secretary-general Hamzah Zainudin showing a copy of the letter issued to the party’s elected representatives at a press conference today.

KUALA LUMPUR: Bersatu has issued notices to all of its elected representatives, requiring them to confirm their loyalty to the party within 14 days.

Bersatu secretary-general Hamzah Zainudin said every MP and assemblyman in states led by the unity coalition must also confirm that they sit in the opposition.

On the other hand, assemblymen in states led by Perikatan Nasional must state their support for their respective menteri besar.

“These letters were sent via email, courier service and even handed over to them personally. They will have to acknowledge and reply within 14 days, otherwise they would cease to be a member.

“However, for the seven elected representatives who have declared support for (the federal and Selangor governments), there are special instructions included in their letters,” he told reporters at a press conference, without disclosing the details of these “special instructions”.

These instructions were endorsed by the Bersatu Supreme Council, he added.

Six Bersatu MPs are backing Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim, namely Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal (Bukit Gantang), Azizi Abu Naim (Gua Musang), Dr Zulkafperi Hanapi (Tanjong Karang), Zahari Kechik (Jeli), Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid (Kuala Kangsar) and Suhaili Abdul Rahman (Labu).

Selat Klang assemblyman Abdul Rashid Asari had also declared support for Selangor menteri besar Amirudin Shari.



This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.